Yes, it’s me!

Some of you have noticed that this is a reincarnation of me – and that I used to have a different blog – you’re quite right, and I’ve been found out.

My previous blog www.myhouraday.blogspot.com was an attempt to figure out how to match being a person in my own right with also having other roles (mainly wife, mother, daughter, sister, employee, small business owner, dog walker, cook, cleaner you get the picture!). I attempted to  have ‘an hour a day’ to do things for my own amusement/advancement to avoid becoming overwhelmed by the ‘groundhog day’ experience that having a family can be.

I didn’t manage it is the main outcome! But, not in a sad way – I just began to realise that the stuff of life was in learning to enjoy the repetition of filling the dishwasher and loading the washing machine, that I was so very very lucky to have such luxuries and to have lots of kids washing that needs doing. I wanted this family life and am trying really hard not to wish any of it away.

I have my moments of course – this morning in fact was one of them. But generally I’m embracing the joy of the ordinary and average, and although I don’t always get as much ‘me’ time as I would like, I’m sure there will be many times in the future when I have nothing to do and no one to sit on my lap when I will wish the loads of washing back again as they symbolise something truly amazing happening here in this house.

Leave a Reply

